Conditions to join EDA


Members of temporary and contract agent staff may be engaged only on condition that:

  • they are nationals of one of the participating Member States and enjoys their full rights as a citizens;
  • they have fulfilled any obligations imposed on them by the laws concerning military service;
  • they produce the appropriate character references as to their suitability for the performance of their duties;
  • they are physically fit to perform their duties; and
  • they produce evidence of a thorough knowledge of one of the languages of the participating Member States and of a satisfactory knowledge of another language of the participating Member States to the extent necessary for the performance of their duties.

Additionally, candidates will need to have, or be in a position to obtain, a valid Personnel Security Clearance Certificate (national or EU PSC at SECRET UE/EU SECRET level).

Personnel Security Clearance Certificate (PSCC) means a certificate issued by a competent authority establishing that an individual is security cleared and holds a valid national or EU PSC, and which shows the level of EUCI to which that individual may be granted access (CONFIDENTIEL UE/EU CONFIDENTIAL or above), the date of validity of the relevant PSC and the date of expiry of the certificate itself.

Note that the necessary procedure for obtaining a PSCC can be initiated on request of the employer only, and not by the individual candidate.

 Important disclaimer: all of the rules and figures presented in this website are for information purposes only. Rights can only be derived from the Staff Regulations and corresponding implementing rules. The exact financial conditions of employment may be determined only case by case.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK